It’s Fine. I Ran Today.


Hello and Happy day to you!

I very seriously need this shirt.

Like very, very seriously.

It totally encapsulates how I have been feeling the last few days.

As many of you know, I tweaked my hamstring during the 5K at Rock n Roll San Diego, a week and a half ago.

So, I spent all of last week foam rolling, stretching, and trying to rest my hamstring.

Although my coach gave me permission to run on Friday, I was UBER paranoid about returning before my leg was fully healed.

I learned that lesson last June when I bruised my shin bone.

That was a nightmare and I was a dummy.

A “test” run ended up prolonging the healing process for almost two weeks.

I decided then that I was NOT going to make that mistake again.

No I was not.

index

Anyway, I awoke on Sunday morning to some crisp, cool Central Coast weather.

It was as if the earth was beckoning me to go frolic.

My hamstring was feeling better, so I quickly obliged.

Although I was very nervous, I decided to try to run 3 miles on a flat-ish course in my neighborhood.

And I am happy to report that I was successful!

My hamstring still felt a teeny bit tight, but overall it felt 10 billion times better than it did in San Diego.

Score!

I quickly emailed my coach to share the good news!

This weeks plan calls for lots of easy running.

And I am okay with that.

https://i0.wp.com/files.runtowin.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/Run-Easy.jpg

I am going take it one week at a time…

and not stress out about the races I have in July.

It is what it is.

I am very thankful to be back running and that I was able to heal quickly.

IMG_0072

And that is all that matters.

Thank you, by the way, to everyone who sent me well wishes.

I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your love and support.

You rock!

-RatherBeRunnin’

Let’s connect!

http://latest.thechromenews.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/twitter-icon3.png https://i0.wp.com/www.radiomaria.it/Data/Sites/1/instagram.jpg

4 thoughts on “It’s Fine. I Ran Today.

  1. Crystal says:

    I’m so glad to hear you’re back to running, and kudos for being so strong and following medical advice! I had to learn that lesson a year ago, where I had a shin injury and couldn’t stop myself from running even though I was told to wait. So then I had to not run at all for 2 weeks right before a race. Hard lesson to learn. Thanks for the blog!

    Like

    • RatherBeRunnin' says:

      Absolutely! Thanks for reading! Sometimes we are our own worst enemy- especially when it comes to running injuries. I’m glad to hear that you learned, as I did, that you have to listen to others and rest!

      Like

Whatcha Think?